The King's Speech (15)

Film image

User Reviews

The King's Speech
Add your own review for
Sort By:
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer scotsean
11/03/2011
I thought it was quite good, sort of Sunday evening costume drama.
A Single Man was much better.
Who the hell cast Timothy Spall as Winston Churchill? His ticks and cheek puffing was ludicrous and very distracting, his eyebrows could have swept the floor.
Helena Bonham Carter did her usual brittle clipped performance, surely there are loads of fine English actresses that could have done a better job.
Colin Firth was great as was Geoffrey Rush.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer cyber
04/03/2011
It took 30 years to bring this enthralling Royal drama to the screen, but the end product is undoubtably a masterpiece. I would call this the film of the century. A biting deeply moving tale of a man who finds his voice. The superb acting opens up a magnificent array of the best in British cinema all the stars gave award-worthy performances, but the performance that adds to the majestic effect of this film lies with it's lead role in Colin Firth. Firth has never been better in a portrayal of King George VI that should be up there with the very best performances in cinema history. Firth captures everything perfectly including then feeble King's stammer which makes up the fabulous inspirational storyline that tells of how George VI overcame his deeply depressing condition and led Britain into War as great speaker With the help of the eccentric unorthodox speech therapist Lionel Logue. Firth conveys true emotion and real power in his role while Geoffrey Rush is equally unmissable in his spectacular portrayal of Logue and Helena Bonham-Carter adds real sparkle as the Queen Mother. A poignant gripping political drama with a fantastic climax that draws the whole movie, that is worthy of being amongst the best films ever made, to a dazzling finish as George finally speaks the nation. An extraordinary masterpiece which combines a marvellous picture experience with some of the finest acting we've ever seen., An irresistible piece of British cinema.
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer jobeangood
30/01/2011
Worth every star available for the pace, acting, script, humour and attention to detail re historical context. - Plus the music............Thoroughly enjoyable: worth seeing again!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer jobeangood
30/01/2011
Worth every star available for the pace, acting, script, humour and attention to detail re historical context. - Plus the music............Thoroughly enjoyable: worth seeing again!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer jobeangood
30/01/2011
Worth every star available for the pace, acting, script, humour and attention to detail re historical context. - Plus the music............Thoroughly enjoyable: worth seeing again!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Melmoth
30/01/2011
This is good movie, but a great movie? I thought A Single Man was much better. I suppose it may depend on whether you are comfortable with a movie that invites you to have sympathy for members of the royal family - I am not particularly interested in the pampered lives of the royals, I'm afraid. Colin Firth and Helena Bonham-Carter in particular do deliver fine performances, but in the end I just didn't care that much - more like watching a good documentary than a drama with engaging characters, except for Geoffrey Rush's character, again a fine performance, and the real hero of the movie. In fact, the movie could be seen as a plea for republicanism - a plea to end this nonsensical system where a rather bland, cold and uninspiring family continue to hold prerogative powers simply by an accident of birth.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
Reviewer operadiva
29/01/2011
It is just a wonderfully heartwarming story which happens to be based on truth even if one can only summise the events privately which accompanied them. The fact that Logue (speech 'therapist') kept detailed notes of his sessions, allows us a glimpse of the subject matter at first hand.
The acting is first rate throughout and although the subject matter seems on paper to be rather dry, this film gives you a real sense of the despair George vi felt when the weight of responsibility fell to him. Having watched this and knowing a little of the history around it, I can only say thank goodness Edward viii abdicated.
I came away with a real sense of the stuffiness of doing one's duty and how stifling the Royal Family can be. It made me think of our present monarch and family in a new light and I also had a feeling of fate that brought George and Lionel together at the moment when they both needed each other the most. In all our lives there are often people to whom we are indebted for just sharing our journey with us. The King had the guts to go along with the unconventionality and Logue had the guts to stick to his guns and do what he knew.
Can't wait to see it again.
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
29/01/2011
Five stars, no question!
User icon
StarStarStarStarStar
29/01/2011
Five stars, no question!
User icon
StarStarStarNo StarNo Star
Reviewer Hammerssmith
26/10/2010
I was lucky to catch the king's speech in Toronto at tiff and was blown away by the acting, directing and writing. It's a wonderful film that deserves all the hype it's getting!
The views contained in these user reviews are not endorsed by ViewLondon in any way and are provided by users who wish to publish their independent views of the respective establishment.
image
01 Focus (15)

Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Rodrigo Santoro

image
02 Selma (12A)

David Oyelowo, Carmen Ejogo, Tim Roth

image
03 Far from the Madding Crowd (tbc)

Carey Mulligan, Tom Sturridge, Matthias Schoenaert...

image
04 Chappie (tbc)

Hugh Jackman, Sigourney Weaver, Sharlto Copley

image
05 A Most Violent Year (15)

Oscar Isaac, Jessica Chastain, David Oyelowo

Content updated: 12/12/2017 21:56

Film of the Week

Foxcatcher (15)

Steve Carrell and Channing Tatum star in this real life inspired story of Olympic talent, fierce competition and murder.

UK Box Office Top 5 Films